Recipe Exchange: Cracked Wheat Cereal

This week I’m getting back to The Little House on the Prairie Old Fashioned Recipe Exchange. Today’s recipe is  for a much loved hot cereal I fell in love with while working at The Cannon Beach Christian Conference Center in Oregon: yummy Cracked Wheat Cereal! I also met my husband while working there – whoo hoo!! For years the non-crock pot version eluded me, but I can now make it much more quickly, and in smaller portions. And without planning so far ahead. This recipe is sooo easy, with great reward. It’s a hearty, nutty, great breakfast or anytime food!

Cracked Wheat Cereal:

1/4 cup cracked wheat

1 cup water

dash of salt

**Simply put all of these ingredients into a small pot and simmer slowly for a half hour, stirring about every 5 minutes. The cracked wheat should absorb all of the water and thicken into a beautiful cereal. So easy!

**My favorite way to eat this is with a bit of brown sugar, but here are some other ideas:

Milk

Honey

Apple juice

**I’m also linking up with Raising Homemakers and Tip Me Tuesday with the Tip Junkie, so hop on over and check out their tips!

Your ingredients…

You can buy it here

Or in bulk like I do, since I live too far away now…

Cooking yumminess…

Finished product…

Time to eat!

**What do like to eat for breakfast?

Little House Living

Tip Junkie handmade projects

2 thoughts on “Recipe Exchange: Cracked Wheat Cereal

Leave a comment