Modest Monday: Football Fan Style

DSCN1352

I’ve never been like everyone else, which led me to much questioning as an adopted child. Although we were all redheads, it was clear that I looked different and had a different personality. It wasn’t until my 4th sister was born when I was 17 1/2 that I felt like someone looked more like me with our round faces and such. Later, I realized my 3rd brother has my personality. He’s 11 years younger.

I’ve always LOVED being feminine, and used to beg my mom, even in first grade, to let me wear dresses instead of pants. I also grew up being taught modesty, just not the reasons for it, except to not distract the boys at school. But no one had to beg me to appreciate my girly-ness. Instead I had to fight hard for it my whole life. And the more years that pass, the more I feel odd for wanting to be feminine, when most are fine dressing far too similar to men. God made me female, why would I want to look like a guy?

One area where it seems almost unforgivable to be feminine is in sports, but I don’t even like wearing t-shirts in my everyday life, so of course I don’t really love wearing them while watching sports. Actually my husband hates me in those sports t-shirts. But I love feeling more connected to my home state, my college and my college friends by watching my alma mater play football while living out of state.

DSCN8448

So first I bought this dress to wear during games with a yellow shirt underneath:

OregonDuckDress

Still sporty, but not so masculine.

But sometimes I need more, so even though I know everyone will think I’m weird, I’m sharing my cute and feminine Oregon Ducks outfit from last Saturday:

DSCN1357

This shirt doesn’t have their name or duck on it, but it’s the right color! And the skirt has both yellow and green in it. BTW: I’m making the Oregon O here. πŸ™‚

DSCN1355

DSCN1349

I like being accepted, but I also like being unique. Sometimes that means I’m the only one I know like me and people think I’m odd. Sometimes I’m okay with that and sometimes I just want to be “normal.” I think we’re all constantly working on being okay with our uniqueness. That’s life! πŸ™‚

DSCN1347

I talk with my hands. And my Sweetie doesn’t always wait until I’m ready when he snaps photos! πŸ™‚

DSCN1342

GO DUCKS!!!!!!

blog_button2

Leave a Reply

