My New Pretty Dishes

DSCN0388

A few years ago I decided I wanted to switch out our retro 70’s dish set with something different. Then a couple of years ago my husband expressed the same thing. Yay! He took photos of a few plates at Daiso while he was out of town, and I spotted a different one in the photos that I liked. Was it porcelain? Were there other pieces so I could create a set? Blank stares…I looked at other locations on other visits and found nothing. As I started looking around, I found I was drawn to modern vintage flowered patterns. But…they were either super expensive or discontinued, and mostly from England and Japan. Can you say expensive PLUS overseas shipping?!!! Ack!! I was feeling pretty hopeless and about to give up and settle with something that wasn’t really my style, when Pioneer Woman came out with her line a couple of weeks ago. A lot of her line is mostly my style, so I thought maybe I could piece together a set from the line. Then…when we were visiting his parents again over the weekend, I asked which Daiso store is the LARGEST..and FINALLY found my new pretty dishes!!!! I ended up choosing a different pattern than the original one I fell in love with, which was more of an English style. I shocked even myself! πŸ™‚

DSCN0372

The best part? Husband approved, which also surprised me. He knows I’ve been discouraged though, so maybe that was part of it?! I picked the green cups with him in mind, and I actually love the combo! πŸ™‚

DSCN0378

DSCN0374

DSCN0386

DSCN0417

DSCN0408

DSCN0407

DSCN0399

DSCN0393

Sometimes you have to get creative when you can’t find what you want or need, so I made my own set!

DSCN0389

DSCN0450

I LOVE them!!

DSCN0418

DSCN0425

DSCN0448

DSCN0445

I love, love, love them!!!

DSCN0438DSCN0427

DSCN0434

My cupboard looks so pretty now! And our Ikea bowls are a good match. πŸ™‚

DSCN0462

DSCN0468

Bye bye old 70’s dishes!

DSCN0472

Now I have pretty, everyday dishes that I love as much as our shamrock china!! πŸ™‚

What do you think?

blog_button2

Homemaking LInkup

A Little R & R Wednesdays - a linky party

4 thoughts on “My New Pretty Dishes

  1. Love, love the pretty dishes !!! I’ve always loved pink and green together too. I like the big wide cups too – just right for morning coffee. Cheery in the kitchen !!!!

Leave a Reply

