Book Review: The River by Beverly Lewis

TheRiverBL

My blog is back up and running, yay! I am a bit behind on book reviews because of it, so here we go. Today’s review for Bethany House is by my favorite author, The River by Beverly Lewis.  I just adore her style and her love of people, healing and forgiveness.

Here’s the summary:

“She looked once more at the dreaded river. Since Anna’s death, it had been such a barrier . . . a place and a moment she could not seem to move past.
           
A line I can’t move beyond…
The River

Tilly and Ruth, two formerly Amish sisters, are plagued by unresolved relationships when they reluctantly return to Lancaster County for their parents’ landmark wedding anniversary. Since departing their Plain upbringing, Tilly has married an Englisher, but Ruth remains single and hasn’t entirely forgotten her failed courtship with her Amish beau.

Past meets present as Tilly and Ruth yearn for acceptance and redemption. Can they face the future in the light of a past they can’t undo?”

Here’s what I think: I Loved it!!

Family relationships are the most complicated. Deep down the love is usually there, but many times it’s so hidden we, ourselves may not even know it. I have many complicated relationships of my own, many of which are healing finally, so I really related to Tilly and her father’s difficult relationship. It reminds me so much of mine with my mother. As the years have passed, I’ve learned more and more about the fears that make my mother act the way she does. It’s still difficult to interact with her, but it sure helps knowing where she’s coming from. Just like Tilly and her dad. Once they begin to understand each other, the healing begins. Many of us experience awful things and don’t react well. It can ruin relationships and our lives if we let it. But our Lord wants us to take these things to Him and let Him do the healing for us, instead of letting our fears rule. Tilly and her dad (and other characters) were holding onto hurts they didn’t need to hold onto, and it wreaked havoc in their family.  Going home and dealing with these issues with humility brought them healing and forgiveness.

Also I love that these sisters were never running away from God, but from hurts and false guilt. Now their relationship with God will become even stronger as they let go of all of the baggage they’ve been carrying around. Honestly, I bawled through parts of this book, and have a better understanding of my mother after experiencing the father’s struggle and pain that caused him to be so critical of Tilly.

Love and Forgiveness glues families together! Definitely worth the read!!

**I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review, but the glowing review is all true!

**Photo credit: Bethany House**

blog_button2

AProbervs31Wife.com

Leave a Reply

