Why is Modesty Important?

DSCN4090

 

Today I read Michelle Duggar’s explanation of why she dresses modestly, and although I became a Christ Follower at 5 years old, I really started thinking about modesty after college.  (Actually, FULL DISCLOSURE, I had REALLY started thinking about it in high school, but evaded God’s convictions in my heart so I could keep dressing the way I wanted).

 

I loved the way she explained her reasons for modesty because they are exactly my reasons also!! So please have a read and know that my heart is to please my Lord, not to judge someone else or act like I’m better than anyone. I just want to be obedient to the things God is telling me to do.

 

Michelle says:

“After I was born again and became a Christian, I really began to cover up. I felt like the Lord was saying to me, you know what, you probably shouldn’t be wearing that. It’s a little bit low cut, or a little bit too high, you know. I just really felt like I needed to obey what God was saying to me first and understand later. And then I saw in the scriptures a lot of things that helped me understand why I was feeling uncomfortable with my previous clothing choices. And I’m not saying this is for everyone because I realize different people are at different places and aren’t always going to have the same way of interpreting things.

Interestingly, Jim Bob and I had a conversation at that point and I said to him, I really feel like the Lord is impressing upon me that I should be modest in what I wear. And also, that I really should be defining who I am as a woman by choosing to wear dresses and skirts…We always tell our children, go to his word. It’s not about these rigid standards. I meet many different people along life’s way and I hear some people say they are so sick of rules and regulations, and they go on and on about how they were raised in a certain denomination. I’m hearing what they’re saying, but I don’t understand it because that’s not where I came from. It’s not drudgery; it really is a joy to see what God says about things and bring that into our lives.”

 

Read More Here

 

 

It is possible to be modest in pants as well, just harder.

 

IMG_4066_2

 

 

Happy reading!!

 

Modest Mom blog button copy

 

 The Homemaking Party

 

AProbervs31Wife.com

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Why is Modesty Important?

Leave a Reply

