Patriotic Fruit Pizza

DSCN5242

 

The day before Independence Day, the company my Sweetie works for like to have a potluck. This year I made a Patriotic Fruit Pizza, as it’s easy, yummy and filled with flair, even if you don’t decorate it with a STAR!!  I knew I was going to be busy ALL day on Wednesday, yet this needs to be fresh, so I wanted something fairly fast and easy.  As usual though, I ran into issues while shopping for the quickest-to-assemble ingredients. I start with a sugar cookie crust, but they were out of the pouch mixes, so I used the refrigerated type. Not as yummy, but even faster.The cream cheese, icing sugar, lemon juice spread ingredients were easy enough to find, but no blueberries, so I had to make do with GIANT blackberries for the STAR. Yummier, but not as pretty. It’s hard to create designs with big berries. It worked well enough though. : >

 

My recipe is a bit of a modified version of this one.

 

My Patriotic Fruit Pizza

 

Refrigerated sugar cookies

1 package (8 oz) cream cheese, softened

1/4 cup powdered sugar

2 teaspoons grated lemon peel

2 cups fresh raspberries

2 cups fresh blackberries

 

**Heat oven to 350°F. Spray 12-inch pizza pan with cooking spray. Our oven is broken, so I flattened a foil pie pan in order to have a round pan that would fit into our toaster/convection oven. Flatten cookie dough pieces and  place in pan, pressing edges lightly together to form the crust.

 

Bake 15  minutes until cooked, but mot crunchy. Cool completely, about 25 minutes.

 

In medium bowl, beat cream cheese, powdered sugar and lemon lemon juice until fluffy. Spread over baked crust. Arrange  one color berries in large star shape in center. Arrange the other berries around star.  Serve immediately or store in refrigerator. Best served fresh.

 

Next time I make this STAR pizza I might take in the inside points a bit and take an aerial look and fix those raspberries at the bottom! : >

 

Enjoy and Happy Independence Day!!!

 

 

 

AProbervs31Wife.com

Modest Mom blog button copy

 

 

   

The Homemaking Party

 

Make, Bake and Create Party

 

 

2 thoughts on “Patriotic Fruit Pizza

Leave a Reply

