Belated Mother’s Day in Solvang

IMG_3723

 

 

IMG_3727

 

 

Exactly one week ago, my Sweetie treated me to a Mother’s Day celebration. He was away on business on the actual day, but you know what? It was the best thing that could have happened, and here’s why: it was the first time in 12 years that I felt like I actually got to be honored as a mother for Mother’s Day outside of my home. I usually hide out away from all of the well wishing because I don’t want to hear a comment unless the person actually knows what they’re saying and who they’re saying it to. So I hide. But I’m still a mother, even if I don’t have my child with me anymore, and his idea honored that. : >

 

IMG_3723

 

 

 

IMG_3729

 

 

Before my Sweetie left, he offered to take me to one of my two favorite local towns as a belated day to honor me, and I chose Danish settled Solvang. I had also put off seeing “Mom’s Night Out” because I didn’t want to see it over Mother’s Day weekend (even though I was chomping at the bit to see it!) , so we went to the morning showing before eating at one of my favorite places, Me N Ed’s then headed out to Solvang. It was great! Even though my favorite bakery was out of my all time favorite treat, Swedish Delight, for the second time in a row. It’s extra hard because we only go there once or twice a year. But it was still great!! I LOVED FINALLY celebrating Mother’s Day in a fun way and I think we should do this belated thing every year!! I felt so much more free from the awful feelings. I think it will make the actual day a bit easier next year too, knowing I’ll have my own time.

 

IMG_3720

IMG_3719

 

 

My Sweetie had no idea how wonderfully his idea would affect me, but I think it’s yet another step on the healing ladder!! : >

A fun time was had by all!

 

 

 

Modest Mom blog button copy

 

 

 

Find Me Here

 

The Homemaking Party

 

 

AProbervs31Wife.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

