Lemon Angel Spring Cake

DSCN4437

I recently saw two fun and festive cakes on Pinterest and ? My wheels started turning because they each used a favorite or two of my Sweetie’s. So I decided to go the easy way, combine the two and add my own flair (which I tend to do frequently with EVERYTHING)!!!

 

DSCN4415

Peek a boo!

 

DSCN4419

 

 

 

The favorite ingredients? Peeps, lemon, of the lemon meringue pie variety, and angel food cake. I used lemon curd form Trader Joe’s because it’s a good price as well as a good flavor, and easier than making my own. :> And I prefer the bunnies to the chicks when it comes to Peeps. Or the gingerbread people! I also love all things MARSHMALLOW!!!!! So I decided to make Fluffy White Frosting for the cake, (or 7 minute, cloud, marshmallow frosting). We also love Angel Food Cake in this family, so I picked one, up ready made from the store so I could focus on the frosting and the cuteness factors!

 

DSCN4385

 

 

 

So many things just fell into place as I mulled over ideas in my head and saw certain sprinkles and jellybeans at the store in certain colors. My version sort of nods to Lemon Meringue, my Swettie’s FAVORITE, and the marshmallow aspect of the Peeps!

 

 

So here’s what I did for this adorable cake:

First I gathered everything onto the table.

DSCN4356

 

 

DSCN4449

 

Then Make the Marshmallowy Frosting:

 

DSCN4361

 

I ADORED Fluffy White Frosting as a kid and always hat it on my Cherry Chip Cake for my birthdays. Betty Crocker had a boxed version we used a lot (COMPLETELY different from the canned variety! I really dislike those cans!). I believe it’s only available on the east coast these days, but I was able to try it again recently, and I really just prefer homemade these days!

 

Next, start assembling…the FUN part!! (Although, eating some of the marshmallow goodness is also fun and gives you energy to continue on)! :>

 

DSCN4366

 

I cut my Angel Food Cake in half and spooned on the Lemon Curd, smoothed it around and put the top back on it.

 

DSCN4378

 

Spread the frosting on the top of the cake and gently ease some down the sides, smoothing all the while and being careful to avoid crumbs in the frosting. Either fill in the middle or just ice around the hole. Start decorating!!

Tip: ALWAYS use 4 strips of parchment paper under the cake so you can pull them out afterward along with any messiness.

DSCN4422

 

I lined the base with alternating pink and yellow jellybeans, threw sprinkles at the sides and top and set the cake on a pretty cake board for prettier photos. :>

 

Then I decorated the top with jellybeans and placed two bunnies in the hole. The frosting buoyed them up!

 

DSCN4406

 

 

One of the best things about this idea, is that the choices are ENDLESS, and kids will LOVE decorating it themselves!!!

 

DSCN4392

 

It is simply DELIGHTFUL! Light and airy! A perfect springtime cake!!

 

P.S. Here’s a cute version some kids made!

 

 

 

AProverbs31Wife.com

 

 

Photobucket

 

 

Tip_Me_Tuesday_Button_TipJunkie-jpg

 

 

Hope In Every Season
ย 
Welcome Home Wednesdays

 

One thought on “Lemon Angel Spring Cake

  1. I loved your Tip Me Tuesday link this week. {thanks girl!} Would you like Tip Junkie to feature your blog post to over 200,000 creative women? If you upload this blog post into your Tip Junkie craft room using at least 2 images, 2 steps, and blog post URL then I can easily feature it in my RSS feed, home page, and all my social networks instantly. {squealing with delight} ~ Laurie {a.k.a. the Tip Junkie}
    http://www.tipjunkie.com/post/how-to-add-a-craft-room-project-on-tip-junkie/

Leave a Reply

