Book Review: The Secret Keeper by Beverly Lewis

DSCN8450

I’m going to postpone my outfit post until tomorrow because I really NEED to get this review posted! Thanks for your patience! I was actually ready to write this post a while back, but needed to write this one first, according to the timing from when I received it. So…then I felt I needed to reread this one in order to refresh my memory. Let me tell you…it was NOT a chore!

I knew the minute I put the book down following the first reading, that I wanted to reread it…and soon! So I was glad to do it, but it has postponed this review. I assure you you though, it will be worth it!

I have been a HUGE Beverly Lewis fan since I first read her first adult Amish fiction novel/series,  “The Shunning” 14 years ago, especially because I related to Katie Lapp, an adopted redhead, just like me! And Beverly Lewis’ still really appeals to me. Thus my love for Plain people began.

I was SUPER excited when this one popped  up in Bethany House Publisher’s list for the  month, and I quickly picked it just in case waiting 10 seconds would mean I would miss out! What if our library didn’t get it? How long would I have to wait to read it? And this way, I own it already, YAY!!

**  {I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for writing a review}

Okay, on to the review:

Beverly Lewis is my all time favorite author, so I expected to like this book. But there’s never a guarantee, and I actually didn’t love one of her books (out of the many others I did/do love), not sure why. But, let me tell you, this story was like magic for me! We get to revisit Hickory Hollow and Katie Lapp and her family, which we haven’t done since October Song a while ago. And it was so wonderful and heartwarming, especially the healing that this community (as well as outside it) needs and receives.

I love the relationship between Rebecca and Jenny, Mary and Jenny and of course Andrew and Jenny. Andrew has become one of my favorite male leading men in Lewis’ books! I just adore him and his sweet patience with Jenny! He is such a strong, loving and patient guy any girl would be blessed to have in her life. And Ella Mae is always the best! There’s a reason they call her “The Wise Woman!” Her sweet relationship with Jenny is just as heartwarming as her relationship with Katie was.

The best part of this book? Coming full circle with Katie, Dan, Mary  and Bishop John’s characters. I think I’ve waited 14 years for this book and resolutions that come for them. And the ABSOLUTE best part? The gospel is crystal clear! It’s one of the reasons Beverly is my favorite author, she makes the gospel message clear in each one of her books, that it isn’t about how good we can be, our works, but what Christ did for us to save us from our sin.

Ella Mae – “Because sometimes when you tell the truth, you can start a fire.”

“Jenny remained in a contrite position, asking for forgiveness, knowing she must trust in divine wisdom and not ‘unto her own understanding’.”

I also loved hearing about Wycliff Bible Translators Deitch Bible. I didn’t even know they were working on it, and the entire Bible is now finished! I appreciate the need to get every people a Bible in their own language, that they may better be able to see their need for God and to receive His wisdom!

I could go on and on, but I may have already given away too much, so I’ll leave it here. I HIGHLY recommend this book to you as a great read, but more importantly, a God honoring read! Jenny Burns is a loveable, relatable, genuine character we can all see a bit of ourselves in. And this story of reconciliation and reconnection is a message for us all!

Photobucket

AProverbs31Wife.com

Welcome Home Wednesdays
Leave a Reply

