Anne of Green Gables Inspired Fashion: Young Anne

DSCN0373

Last week, Bramblewood Fashion hosted an Avonlea Fashion weekend. I found out 2 days before the event and didn’t have a chance to pull it all together and join in, so I rummaged through my closet and wrangled my Sweetie as the photographer and dove in this weekend!

I came to the party late, although I did read some of the books as a kid or teenager, but when the first film came out late in high school, I was SOLD!!!

I knew I had some options for the time period, as we have a local historical even of the same era, but matching an outfit with a character from one of  the shows was a bit trickier. I always loved Aunt Olivia’s outfits from Avonlea, but didn’t seem to have anything to recreate one of hers. Then I found this favorite of Anne and decided to recreate it with my own items. At least I’m already a redhead!! More auburn these days as I’m aging, than her strawberry blond, but close enough! :>

AnneGreenGablesCardiganPlaidSkirt

I found this grainy image through a search and then images. It may have been from Fan Pop.

“Kindred spirits are not so scarce as I used to think. It’s splendid to find out there are so many of them in the world.”

DSCN0369

I found ths wonderful wool cardigan with fun flowers at a thrift store over 10 years ago and I just love it! It seemed to fit the bill for Anne’s cardigan. The skirt is from Kohl’s on clearance last year. I bought two different patterns! I bought a few tops from different stores with a turn of the century look and this one from my old favorite Mervyn’s seemed the best. The boots are from a garage sale at least 10 years ago.

DSCN0377

I went through my stash of ribbons and added one to my braid.

DSCN0378

And I forgot my pearl necklace!

I’ve been an Anne fan for a long time, as I was adopted and a redhead. I understood her fears and longings to belong, her desire for family, and most of all, for love. I cried with her and laughed with her. Secretly, I actually preferred Diana’s clothes to hers most of the time. But her character and personality is the one I’ve always related to, as well as Aunt Olivia’s from the Avonlea series.

This was a super fun idea, and I have a couple of more outfits inspired by the era more than the shows, so keep your eyes open!

Photobucket

AProverbs31Wife.com

Photobucket

12 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables Inspired Fashion: Young Anne

Leave a Reply

