Bethany House Book Review: Unforeseeable by Nancy Mehl

DSCN8516

It’s time for another Bethany House book review. This one is absolutely a mystery. I basically only read Christian books, because of soooo very much inappropriate content in others, but do enjoy a mystery sometimes, so this was a good example of a Christian mystery plot.

{FYI: I received this complimentary book from Bethany House in exchange for this review. But this is my honest opinion of the book.}

It’s about a Mennonite girl named Callie, engaged to the new pastor of her church and working with his sister in law at the town cafe’. A recent murder just outside of the small town seems to be the work of a serial killer. And to add to Callie’s frustration, her fiance’ Levi seems to hiding something about the murder.

Callie lives in an apartment above the cafe’ and the cafe’ itself becomes the place the town gathers to talk about the crime, and whether the killer could be one of their own. Much of the charm of this book is similar to other Plain books, the characters and relationships in the community. I personally related to the mother/daughter part of the plot, due to my own story. I won’t tell you any more so you can figure it out along the way as I did, but  I loved that part. :> I also love how caring Levi is and the wonderful friend his sister-in-law, Lizzie is to Callie. She and his brother Noah already treat Callie as one of the family, and are always looking out for her. Callie matures a lot throughout the story, and really emerges from girlhood into a young lady who now has a better grasp on what it means to trust God.

I would have prefered a better gospel message, emphasizing the need to repent of our sins and follow Christ. The author does stress the importance of being a light in the world as followers of God though, and there were a lot of great pearls of wisdom about the type of relationship we should have with God. Filled with trust, freedom, follow Him and only Him, forgiveness, etc.

DSCN8516

Sometimes mystery plots are easy to predict, but my guesses were not always correct this time! That makes the story more interesting to me. I enjoyed reading this book, and I’m sure I’ll read it again. I’m one of those people who reads books over and over again. If you like mysteries, plain people and/or Christian novels, you’ll probably enjoy this book.

Happy Reading!! :>

Leave a Reply

