Ireland: Day 5 – Visit at Drewstown

DSCN5418

One of my favorite days happened on our 5th day, because I got to have a nice, long visit with my friend Susie. Yay! She also brought her little boy, David with her, and Steve and Leta entertained him so we could visit for a while, before they headed off to Newgrange (which I had already seen) and we went for a walk around the lovely lake. This trip began with friends in mind, and I knew I would gladly give up some sight seeing for some special visiting time. I knew there would be time for both, and I couldn’t wait to see my old friends!

Here’s are a couple of scenes captured by cousin Leta while I visited with his mum:

 

She said, “I loved listening to his rain song with his Irish accent.” ;>

 

SusieCoffeysDavidLetaPhoto

 

SusieCoffeysDavidLetaPhoto2

 

 

So we had a lovely day of visiting, and Steve and Leta got to meet her before heading off on their own adventure. Susie and David came over to the flat we were staying in at Drewstown and we had tea, then walked around the lovely lake through the woods. David had a blast exploring EVERYTHING along the way! :> Drewstown House began in 1745 as a manor house, then became an orphanage, then a school and now a Christian camp. The current director grew up in the orphanage and school, and became the director a few months before I arrived in 1994. It’s a peaceful, beautiful spot in the countryside of County Meath.

DSCN5407

DSCN5405

DSCN5410

Here’s one of the gates to the Walled Garden, or as the kids liked to call it, the Secret Garden. It’s really just a walled in field, but seems magical from the outside. :>

DSCN5411

DSCN5414

Someone photobombed my photo!

DSCN5415

DSCN5416

DSCN5422_2

DSCN5422_3

The house:

DSCN5427

The resident swans:

DSCN5424

The house behind a tree curtain:

DSCN5428

Lilypads:

DSCN5432

Meanwhile…over at Newgrange:

(Oops, I accidentally posted this photo yesterday). Look at that green!!

P1010553

P1010555

Even burial grounds are filled with interesting architecture in the old world!

P1010556

P1010563

P1010565

 

Here’s another one by Leta:

 

NewgrangeLetaPhoto

 

 

P1010566

P1010568

So much fun being in one of my favorite places and visiting with an old friend!!

Leave a Reply

