Recipe Exchange: Yummy Apple Cranberry Juice and “Pulp” Soup

DSCN3510

Last week I did some juicing for the health of my kidneys and liver, which I’ll write about in detail later. After more research, it turned out other things were better than juicing, including the fiber in the pulp from the juicing. In the process of looking around at different recipes, I came across a different idea I thought I would try. I am NOT a cranberry lover – YUCK!!! But I take cranberry capsules for my kidneys. Now here’s the shocker! I made this juice and fell in LOVE! It is super yummy and delicious!!! So much better than anything you can buy in the store. I will drink this just for fun!!! It turns out, a cup of this only equals one capsule, but who cares? I’ll just drink it for it’s yumminess, with a bit of extra kidney help thrown in on the side!! :>

I started with partial recipe in a comment thread, used my imagination and my blender and came up with this yumminess!

DSCN3690

Cranberry Apple Juice

2 sm or 1 lg apple(s)
1 1/4 cups of dried cranberries

1 – 1/2 cups water

Pour water into blender, add cranberries and pulse until smooth(ish). Cut apples into wedges, add to blender and pulse until smooth(ish). Strain out the pulp, add ice and be prepared to ENJOY!! Mmm, mmm, good!

I made lots of Green Juice, which means I had a lot of “green” pulp leftover. I researched uses for the pulp, but didn’t like any of them, so I thought I would just try the idea in back of my head of Pulp Soup. Easy and probably edible, I figured, since I was okay with the flavor of the juice! And that’s exactly how it turned out. You get used to it, and when I added Pulp Crackers I made, it felt like I finally had a meal!! Later I added dry toast instead, and I actually thought it was pretty yummy! So it may not be your favorite “soup” in the world, but definitely doable.

DSCN3518

1 – 1 1/2 cups Green Pulp (see below)

1 1/2 -2 cups Chicken Broth

Optional: salt or seasonings if your routine allows

Heat all ingredients in a pot and serve!

DSCN3502

**My favorite “Green Juice

2 cup water ( I like my juice thinner)

5-6 Lg leaves of kale

20 baby carrots or 2 average size

1 apple

6 inches cuke

Add each ingredient in order to blender, pulsing after each addition until smooth(ish), then strain and serve! Save the pulp for soup!

Do you have any unorthodox recipes in you repertoire? Happy eating!

Post image for Old Fashioned Recipe Exchange 4/30

http://aproverbs31wife.com/category/of-family-matters/helpmeet/

LivingInTheShoe

LinkupButton

One thought on “Recipe Exchange: Yummy Apple Cranberry Juice and “Pulp” Soup

Leave a Reply

