Recipe Exchange: Orange Julius

DSCN3382

Years and years ago, when we were still teenagers, my brother came across or came up with a great Orange Julius recipe that we were all in love with. Since then, I’ve adapted it and come up with my own favorite way to make it, where the texture is thicker and the orange flavor is stronger. So for today’s Recipe Exchange I’m sharing both recipes for you and you can pick the one you like the best! It’s pretty healthy too!

I like making a grape juice version of this too!

DSCN3388

Tiffanie’s Orange Julius

2 Tbl. frozen concentrated OJ

4 ice cubes

3/4 cup milk (I’ve used all kinds of cow’s milk in this over the years)

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 tsp. sugar

**Place everything in the blender, blend and serve!

* You can use frozen orange juice ice cubes, but the flavor is more watered down. I never found a way that worked to my liking.

*You could use honey in this, but it would probably change the flavor a bit. And you would probably only need 1/2 tsp. since honey is sweeter.

* I’ve made the same thing using frozen grape juice concentrate also, and it is super yummy! You don’t need ANY sugar for that one though.

DSCN3369

Terry Jr’s Orange Julius

I egg

1/3 cup OJ frozen concentrate

1 cup milk

4-6 ice cubes

1-2 Tbl. sugar

*Place all in blender, blend and serve!

DSCN3375

So yummy!!

Do you have a favorite drink you make at home or a remake of a “mall” favorite?

Recipe Exchange

PhotobucketPhotobucket

One thought on “Recipe Exchange: Orange Julius

Leave a Reply

