Recipe Exchange: Garlic and Herb Chicken Quinoa

DSCN2942

My cousin-in-law suggested I try quinoa to replace some of my carb addictions, make it a bit easier. I’d heard of quinoa, but never really knew what it was, but after her suggestion I finally gave it a try.It takes some getting used to, but I noticed something immediately. It works as either pasta OR rice! Bonus! AND, it has protein! I’m still getting used to it, but I’m sold!

Around the same time, I discovered something truly AMAZING!!! I found the best seasoning mix in the world at our local health food store, New Frontiers. It’s from their bulk section and it’s called “Garlic and Herb Seasoning.” I fell in love with it immediately from just the yummy  look and SMELL!! So far, the yummiest combination is this seasoning on a buttered baked potato…HEAVENLY! But I’ve also used it in my Chicken and Tortellini dish the last time I made it, homemade Pea Soup, and…quinoa. All successes!

DSCN2861

So today’s dish for the Old Fashioned Recipe Exchange is:

Garlic and Herb Chicken Quinoa

1/2 cup uncooked quinoa (I used Trader Joe’s Organic White Quinoa)

2 tsp garlic and herb seasoning

3 huge Brussels sprouts chopped or sliced

15 chopped baby carrots chopped

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

1/2 of 1 chicken breast, cooked and shredded

**Cook quinoa according to package directions. Meanwhile steam or boil veggies for about 5 min. Toss all ingredients together and enjoy, hot or cold!!!

Easy Peasy!!

What are you eating/making?

Recipe Exchange

Photobucket

Welcome Home Wednesdays

lollipops

 

2 thoughts on “Recipe Exchange: Garlic and Herb Chicken Quinoa

  1. Thanks so much for this! I’ve never tried quinoa…but I think I’ll give it a shot! Thanks for linking up. I’ll have the new party up later tonight.

Leave a Reply

