Recipe Exchange: Tea Cup “Cookies”

DSCN0962

It started with a picture on Facebook, and the opportunity to make and serve them! I have a family in my life that loves miniature tea parties. It started when they were all much, much younger, and I helped the mom with childcare regularly while she homeschooled the oldest kids. Our tea parties began as a girl event, but as the boys saw the tiny candies we were eating, they joined in on the fun, one by one.

This is the original photo, using products from Austraila. If only I had those marshmallows, which are also sold in Ireland, or were when I lived there 18 years ago.

MarshmallowTeacups

The Pioneer Woman shared a story a couple of weeks ago about her boys shunning scones as girly food, until she disguised them as “Sugar Biscuits” and it completely reminded me of the oldest boy from this family. The tea parties were far too girly for him…until he saw the sweets!! :>

So today, for the Old Fashioned Recipe Exchange with Little House on the Prairie Living, I’m sharing this fun idea, even though it isn’t technically a recipe.

Go to this post for the original idea.

*My Version*

I used Marie brand tea biscuits, because that’s what we have available here, with a simple colored glaze of icing sugar and water to create the look of the European biscuit/cookie .

White large marshmallows

The glaze acts as the glue for the sprinkles on top, the marshmallow cups to the biscuit saucersย  and the handles, made of broken in half, pastel colored Lifesavors.

It goes pretty quickly and easily, and the kids were THRILLED with this special addition to our usual tea parties!

Be creative and make them your own out of things in your pantry!

DSCN0976

Here’s a list the 6 year old of things to do on our “Play Date.” So ADORABLE! AND she made a MOVIE for me with her new camera! I felt so LOVED!

AbbyPlayDateJan2013

TRANSLATION:

Play Kitchen

Have a tea party

A puzzle

Read Charlotte’s Web

Do a craft

Play Barbie with Tiffanie

Make a book with her

So sweet! Of course I had to tell her we wouldn’t have time for EVERYTHING! :>

Her new KITCHEN!

DSCN0985

Serving me “dinner” from her kitchen.

DSCN0989_2

DSCN0988

I love these kids!

How do you make time with loved ones special?

Recipe Exchange

Handmade Projects ~ Add Yours! {2-12}modest+mondays+3

 

6 thoughts on “Recipe Exchange: Tea Cup “Cookies”

  1. The same thing happened at our tea party usually attended by my granddaughter and I. The boys caught sight of the cookies and such and *boom* they joined us real fast! Lol which I loved, of course.

Leave a Reply

