Recipe Exchange: Ham and Potato Soup

DSC02175

Today for the Old Fashioned Recipe Exchange with Merissa at Little House on the Prairie Living, I’m re-posting a recipe from my old blog. There are two reasons I’m doing this: 1. My old blog posts are no longer available. 2. Many more people are now reading my blog who haven’t seen this recipe before.

I sort of developed this recipe accidentally, because I had leftover mashed potatoes and ham, and I added too much milk to the potatoes. Also, growing up, my family always preferred what is now called “smashed” potatoes. So those chunks/lumps lend themselves easily to the soup idea. Over the years I’ve turned it into a well loved recipe in our house. You’ll see from the photos that I made it more of a chowder than a soup this time. Play with it until you get what you like, or change it up when the moods suits, like I did! You could use bacon, broccoli, add cheese, the possibilities are endless in such a flexible dish as this is. I gravitate toward Brussels sprouts because they’re my favorite vegetable.

Here’s the recipe:

Potato Soup

8 Medium russet potatoes, chopped
2 Small potatoes, diced
Salt, pepper and parsley (fresh if you have it) to taste
2 Tbls butter
2 cups milk for chowder, more for soup (I use non-fat)
8 brussels sprouts, diced
Half a ham steak cubed (from Costco)
1-2 tsp chopped garlic (optional)

*Bring salted water to a boil in a large stock pot, add the chopped potatoes and cook until tender. Drain and smash, add butter, salt, pepper, parsley and milk, then stir. Add the ham and Brussels sprouts and heat through, then serve hot.

-Some people heat the milk first, but I like to avoid extra cleaning.

-About 45 minutes due to all of the peeling, chopping and dicing. I’ve also used red potatoes without peeling them, saves time and is also yummy.

DSC02152

DSC02156

DSC02160

DSC02163

DSC02175

Ironically, we are cutting down on carbs and are probably having Stir Fry for dinner tonight. Find the recipe here. But we’ll still have this soup sometimes. :>

What are you having for dinner?

Post image for Old Fashioned Recipe Exchange 2/5

Leave a Reply

