Childhood Nostalgia

DSCN0001_52

A couple of high school friends have been posting photos of things we grew up with in Portland, Oregon. One friend brought up our famous and well-loved Senn’s Drive-in Dairies, and I thought, “It’s time I lug those bottles my cousin-in-law gave me awhile back, down off of the top of the refrigerator and FINALLY take photos of them. The bonus? I took them with my brand-spankin’-new camera!! Sometimes there’s a benefit to putting it off. :> And honestly, it wasn’t  too much work dusting them off – whew!

DSCN0001_90

We had a family friend who worked at Senn’s, so many times we didn’t even have to “Drive-In,” we would tell him our order and he would deliver it right to our door! I’ve always had a love-hate relationship with dairy, which means I didn’t ingest much milk and that only made my taste buds even more sensitive to the freshness of milk. But let me say this, I would ALWAYS drink a glass of it the day our Senn’s arrived, in their super fresh, glass bottles!  “The Freshest Milk In Town!!” And of course I loved their yummy ice cream!

DSCN0001_54

So this post is for all of the Senn’s Drive-In Dairy fans out there!! Those who loved the novelty of pulling up under that covering over the driveway and having your fresh milk handed to you with a smile and a cute carrier! Those who appreciate the old fashioned one on one interaction and personable service. Those who know that newer isn’t always better!

 

DSCN0001_57

DSCN0001_62

DSCN0001_80

DSCN0001_70

DSCN0001_67

DSCN0001_85

And here’s more info about Senn’s!

And more Portland nostalgia from the 70’s: The Kite Man!! Did they edit out a word? I thought it’s ending was, “with Pacific Power and Light.”

Leave a Reply

