Recipe Exchange: Peanut Butter Muffins

DSC09768

The Recipe Exchange is back! So I’m teaming up with Little House on the Prairie Living to share my Christmas morning Peanut Butter Muffins. My sweetie’s aunt used to make a breakfast casserole Christmas morning, but then as everyone started getting married and spending Christmas with other relatives, we started having waffles on Christmas morning. The past few years we started just eating cereal and then we’d be ravenous by turkey and ham time. So…I decided to make an easy , make ahead, breakfast with protein, and I immediately thought of my Peanut Butter Muffins. I made them Christmas Eve night after church and we had a more festive breakfast that lasted until dinner! Yes, it would’ve been nice to eat them hot out of the oven, but this way I wasn’t using precious oven space on Christmas morning, or holding up stocking and gift unwrapping. And you can microwave them for a few seconds so they taste “hot out of the oven.” Perfectly paired with Chai for me!!

DSC09687

*Peanut Butter Muffins*

2 cups flour

1/4 cup sugar

2 t. baking powder

1/2 t. salt

1/3 cup peanut butter (if you use creamy, then add 1/2 cup of unsalted peanuts)

1 cup milk (I use non-fat)

1 egg, beaten

3 Tbl. unsalted butter, melted (I’ve also used salted, whatever I have on hand)

1/2 cup unsalted peanuts – optional

**Combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a large mixing bowl. Add peanut butter and combine with a pastry cutter or fork until it is a course, crumbly texture. Stir in milk, egg and butter. Fill each muffin cup of a greased 12 muffin tin, 3/4 full with batter. Sprinkle peanuts over muffins, if desired. Bake 15-20 minutes in a 375 degree oven until light golden brown. Cool on a wire rack. Enjoy your yummy snack or breakfast!

DSC09693

What do you eat on Christmas morning?

Post image for Old Fashioned Recipe Exchange 1/1

sticker

Leave a Reply

