Recipe Exchange: Black Bean and Rice Soup

It’s time for another Old Fashioned Recipe Exchange with Little House on the Prairie Living! Last week I made a burrito mixture of black beans, rice and corn so we could easily throw together lunches and such by adding a tortilla and some cheese. I had made something similar a couple of weeks earlier, and we were a little bored with it after each having a couple. So I decided to shake things up a bit and turn those leftovers into soup. Let me just say…it was super yummy!!  I love it when leftovers make a yummy surprise meal!!

Here’s what I did?

Black Bean and Rice Soup

2 1/2 cups cooked brown rice

1 1/2 cups black beans

1/2 cup corn

3 cups chicken broth

dash of sea salt and pepper

**Just pour it all in a large pot together, stir and simmer for about 10-15 minutes. It’s ready to serve!! Yummy! Serves 4-5

P.S. I cooked my own beans from dry, and the “sauce” they make really gave the soup that extra yumminess.

What are you having today?

Post image for Old Fashioned Recipe Exchange 11/13
Little House Living

Growing Home

Feminine Adventures

Leave a Reply

