31 Days of Heart and Home: Modest Mondays

First of all today, when I committed to writing everyday for 31 days, I knew it would be hard, but I figured, “I’m just giving up 4 weekends, I can do this.” But I was reminded of the toll it takes on life after just the first weekend.  I had committed to NOT blogging on the weekends for a reason, it gets in the way of life! We all need a break, a rest, and time with family, and I really need to protect those weekends out of respect for my sweetie, and for myself. So, I am changing my part of the challenge to something that works for me. My own challenge hasn’t changed, and will be daily, but the writing has changed. So here’s the difference: I’ll still write 31 posts on the same topics, but I’ll skip weekends.

That brings us to today and Modest Mondays!I decided to dress for Autumn, not realizing another heat wave was here until I walked out the door!

I probably bought this top at Mervyn’s, my favorite store for clothing…oh how I miss it.

This beautiful necklace is an old style from our very own local Lisa Leonard Designs and the earrings came from Kohl’s.  And the shrug is a find from Fashion Max.

I always call this my Thanksgiving top because of the great Autumn colors in it!

Today’s scripture for me is:Psalm 71:1 “In You, O LORD, I put my trust; Let me never be put to shame.”

Because of circumstances in my childhood, I’ve always had a hard time trusting, and let’s be honest, no matter what your circumstances, people let us down. So I can always use a reminder and encouragement that I need to trust God. It’s something I have to work at daily. And part of trusting God is believing that He tells the truth, so I also need to continually work on trusting that His words are true. It’s hard to do that at times when things happen that are difficult to get through. It’s hard to trust that He still loves us and wants the best for us, but it’s also easier to get through those time knowing that He is there for us and does want the best for us. So it’s something I’m always working on.

Another good reminder is this: Romans 8:28 “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.”

Even every new project requires some trust, that the idea you’ve dreamed up will really work and turn out the way you planned it. But without trying you may miss out on something great. And it’s a great way to practice trusting, which makes it easier to trust next time!

Source: etsy.com via Tiffanie on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

