31 days of Heart and Home: Fondue, Creativity and Focus

Living in a small town means you have less access to some things…like pretzels with cheese sauce. So I’ve been on a hunt for a recipe to make my own. Along the way, I’ve seen so many different cheese sauces for different things. I love the one they serve at a local restaurant as a dip for chicken strips, and I would live a non-spicy version for chips. It’s hard to escape spicy when you live in California…ugh! My body hates it even more now that I’m older! So I finally found this one that may serve all of my needs. Supposedly you add more milk depending on the consistency you want, so we’ll see, but it really did seem like I may have found my recipe!!

This first time around, I allowed it be a bit thicker and served it as a fondue. I wasn’t even looking for a fondue recipe. I already have a great one. But, guess what? This one doesn’t use alcohol…bonus! And I am not a sweet and savory person, but I loved the grapes and cheese together!! Tomorrow I’ll try thinning out some of the leftovers and see what happens. :>

I found the original recipe for Nacho Cheese Sauce on Pinterest and here’s the site: Kitchen Simplicity. I adapted it to be non-spicy. Go to her blog for spicy ideas!

Cheese Sauce (Fondue, Pretzel, Chips)

  • 8 oz. cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 (12 oz.) can evaporated milk, divided
  • pinch salt

Before putting pan on heat, toss together cheese and cornstarch, in a medium-sized saucepan, until evenly coated. Stir in 1 cup evaporated milk and salt. Melt, stirring often, over medium-low heat until thickened, smooth and bubbly. Stir in additional evaporated milk, if needed, until desired consistency is reached. You can adjust the thickness according to your needs. Thicker for dipping and thinner for drizzling. Easy!

I’ll mix it up next time and use half colby/jack and half cheddar for a smoother consistency. And freshly grated is better than the bagged I used. But I was perfectly happy with the version I made tonight!

Being creative in the kitchen and with my wardrobe, and making time for God, both give me the focus and creativity I need to craft things for my shop.ย  Quieting my busy thoughts, so I’m able to tackle each task. But I’ve also decided I don’t need to be as busy as I thought I wanted to be originally. I like a steady pace much better than the frantic one that comes at times. And as I’ve taken pressure off of myself, creating has become more fun again! I’m enjoying this time of taking stock and figuring out what I want from my daily schedule and shop at this point.

Leave a Reply

