31 Days of Heart and Home: Beauty for Ashes

This weekend I attended our church’s Women’s Retreat, and it was great! It was hard to have it fall on the first weekend of the 31 Days project though.  I just need to show myself grace though, as I AM implementing the Home and Heart commitments, even if I did miss a day in my blogging! Much, much time in God’s word this weekend with a Beth Moore study, and sweet fellowship with the women.  And we’re getting our new-to-us entertainment center set up! Yay! I have been wanting something better than our 3 different units for sooooo long! So, since we are de-cluttering and organizing, I took a peek on Craigslist, and found a $45 unit! We had the chore of unloading the others and unhooking everything and now we are beginning to reap the benefits as we put things away and set everything up. It looks so much better! It feels like we’re making some progress, and I know that will help motivate us to keep going. :>

Finished photos coming soon…

Beth Moore brought up one of my life verses this weekend, along some of the circumstances that have made it one of my life verses. Absolutely nothing in my life has come easily and I’ve gone through much suffering at different times. Without God, I never would have made it out of my teen years. But along the way, God has given me this verse, and hope.

Isaiah 61:3 “To console those who mourn in Zion, To give them beauty for ashes, The oil of joy for mourning, The garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; That they may be called trees of righteousness, The planting of the LORD, that He may be glorified.”

What a blessing to have that promise from God!


Here’s a fun anecdote from our free-time shopping yesterday. I was paying for my purchases, and the girl asked if I wanted to buy a bag, (we have a new law where they don’t provide plastic bags anymore). I said no. She asked if I just wanted to put them back in my cart then…big pause. I told her that, no, I’ll use my bag that she’s holding in her hand. She laughed and told me she thought it was a blouse!! :> That’s why I posted a photo of my pretty bag from Bath and Body Works!

And it folds up into a little pouch!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do have a funny misunderstanding story like that?

Leave a Reply

