Recipe Exchange: Non-Spicy Chicken Enchiladas

DSCN6908

I love this idea of a Recipe Exchange from Little House on the Prairie Living, even though I sometimes feel pressured to try a new recipe every week. :> It’s a fun, old fashioned idea most of us women can connect through. I thought I wasn’t joining in this week, as I didn’t feel up to trying something new today, but as I was deciding on dinner for one, I was thinking of chicken and rice, boring. Then I remembered those enchiladas I keep meaning to try, they seem so easy. And I thought I could use the chicken and rice in those instead…mmm, it’s staring to sound yummy. As we are a dairy challenged household and I am a spice challenged girl, I took a risk with the cheese, but not the spices today. And I’m just winging it-no official recipe. And I went the lazy, easy way for everything this time, ie: canned chicken and corn. So, here you go.

Tiffanie’s Chicken Enchiladas

1/2 of a 12.5 oz. can of chicken

1/2 of a 15.25 oz. can of organic corn or frozen organic corn

1/2 of a 15 oz can of organic black beans

1 cup of sliced olives

3/4 cup uncooked rice ( we  now use brown or a brown/wild mix)

1/2 cup grated cheese + 1/2 cup added to 14 cup of chicken broth for the cheese sauce

dash of salt and pepper

5 Tortillas

1 cup cheese

**Cook the rice according to the directions, then mix the first 5 ingredients together and divide between the 5 tortillas and place seam side down in a 9″x9″ glass dish. Sprinkle with remaining cheese and bake at 350 degrees for 20-25minutes.

*If I had black beans, I would have added them. And may make a cheese sauce or something for a bit more moisture, but MUCH better than chicken and rice!

*I thought I would just be making a couple for one person, but it ended up making 5, once everything was mixed together. Bonus: leftovers!!

*We’re conservative with our cheese intake, but you can make them more cheesy and yummy like real enchiladas. We would if we could!

*Update 9.30.12: I made this again tonight and added 1/2 cup of chicken broth. It made such a difference!! NOW, I’m in love! I’m adding olives next time too! Oh, and I just microwaved them for 1 1/2 minutes because I was in a hurry, super yummy!

*Another update: Instead of sprinking our little bit of cheese over the top, I made a more dairy friendly sauce by mixing a handful of cheese with chicken broth, melting it and pouring it over the enchiladas. I think I’ve found the final product!! :>

The first attempt: Okay, but not great.

 

Tonight’s mix – 9.29.15: So much more skrumptious!

DSCN0513

I love recipes that occur by throwing leftovers together!! What are you cooking?
Little House Living

Post image for Old Fashioned Recipe Exchange 9/25

Tip Junkie:

Teach Me Tuesdays with Growing Home:

Growing Home

A Wise Woman Builds Her Home:

a-wise-woman-builds-her-home

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

