Recipe Exchange: Israeli Couscous Salad

It’s Recipe Exchange day today with Little House on the Prairie Living and I’m sharing a recipe a friend served at our annual scrapbooking weekend. It has become my new favorite go-to meal! I love, love, love it!!! My sweetie loves it now too!

These photos show that I forgot the peas this time, but they add color and more flavor. I think this is the only time I made it without them. Although last time I forgot the almonds…

Also, I usually DO NOT mix sweet with savory, but it works in this recipe! The honey is better than using sugar, as I discovered the time I accidentally used sugar.

Here’s the recipe:

Israeli Couscous Salad

The Dressing:

1/4 Extra virgin olive oil

2 Tbl Fresh lemon juice

1 1/2 tsp Chopped garlic or 1 cube frozen crushed garlic

1/2 tsp dried parsley

1/2 tsp Kosher salt to taste

Black pepper to taste

1/4 cup sugar or 2 Tbl honey

Couscous:

1 Box Trader Joe’s Israeli Couscous

1/3 cup unsalted, dry toasted, sliced almonds

Another 1/2 tsp parsley

1/2 cup of frozen peas

1 Shredded chicken breast

Whisk together the olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, parsley, salt, pepper and honey in a bowl. Set aside.

Follow the cooking directions on the Israeli Couscous box.

Here’s the browning stage:

Adding the water:

Add the cooked couscous, peas and chicken to the bowl containing the dressing, and toss together. Let it cool 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally. The couscous will absorb the dressing as it cools.

(As you can see, I forgot the peas this time)

Add the almonds and extra parsley. Add more salt and pepper if needed.

Serves 4.

Note:

You can use any 8oz of PEARL couscous, just toast it in some olive oil first and then add the water.

You can add cranberries, oregano, fresh basil, crumbled feta or whatever you like. I’ve tweaked it so it suits my tastes.

I just adore it this way! It’s an easy, yummy dish everyone will love! Even picky people like me!
Little House Living

Post image for Old Fashioned Recipe Exchange 9/18

Teach Me Tuesdays with Growing Home

Growing Home

Tip Me Tuesday with Tip Junkie
Tip Junkie handmade projects

Homestead Barn Hop with Homesteading Revival

Leave a Reply

