Recipe Exchange: Steel Cut Oats/Irish Oats

I haven’t been very consistent with my Recipe Exchange posts lately, but here you go for this week! I really love that Little House on the Prairie Living hosts this, but some weeks, I just don’t try a new recipe! I’m also coming this post with Growing Home’s Teach Me Tuesdays Linkup.

On our trip to the Computer History Museum, I finally bought some steel oats. People have been telling me about this for so long, and since I found a good deal, I snagged it. Also, I’ve been on a hot cereal kick already with cracked wheat, now that I don’t have to cook it in a crock pot or all night on the stove, so this is just branching out! The cooking technique is about the same as cooking cracked wheat, which means, super easy! I love the chewiness of these two cereals!

I halved the recipe on the bag, and it’s still a very generous helping!

I also cooked it the same way I cook cracked wheat, even though it says to bring the water to a boil first, then add the oats.

Here’s what I did:

Steel Oats/Irish Oats

1 1/2 cup water

dash of salt

1/2 cup oats

**Put everything in the pan and bring to a boil. Then lower the heat and simmer for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. If you want it softer and less chewy, simmer lower heat about 20 minutes. Turn off the heat, cover and let it thicken for a couple of minutes. That’s it! Easy, yummy and variety from regular oatmeal or cold cereal.

Below are some serving ideas from Bob’s Red Mill:

If you were cooking this in Ireland, you would probably cook it in milk instead of water.

Try it! It’s easy and yummy!!

Little House Living

Recipe Exchange
Growing Home

Leave a Reply

