My Birth Mother

There were several emotional events on our Oregon trip in July, and meeting with my birth mother was one of them. I actually met her when I was in high school and we spent a couple of years getting together periodically, but it ended for reasons I’m not really sure about. I’ve heard different stories from a couple of people. Anyway, We’ve been emailing each other for about a year and a half, and wanting to meet up, so this seemed like a good time since we’d be in Oregon. I’ve dealt with a lot of betrayal with family members, so wanted to wait awhile and see if I could trust her.

I’ve been learning so many things from her about my past! It’s been fun, exciting and sometimes a bit sad. But for the most part, it’s all been very healing. Our meeting went so well that we left much later than planned. I couldn’t believe how comfortable we were visiting together! The best thing about getting to know her? She truly loved us and only meant to send us away temporarily for our protection from someone abusive. You can’t imagine how powerful it is to hear that, unless you’ve been through it yourself!!

I have so much to process now! She wasn’t perfect, and she was a 19 year old girl making a huge decision about her 2 and 3 year old girls. But she did her best to protect us from the type of abuse she herself had to endure. (She couldn’t know that we would still face abuse, as she thought we were in the safest place we could be). It’s very healing to know your 16 year old mother did not kill you, but chose life, then at 19 chose protection and love for her girls. I’m so thankful God was always looking out for us!

It’s always been easy for me to understand the concept and meaning of God adopting us into His family, and EVERYTHING that means. I know what it means to be chosen, adopted, given a new home, etc. It isn’t hard for me to understand that God takes me in and makes me one of His own, just the same as His other children, other followers of Christ. I don’t think I could have made it through all of the heartache I’ve been through without Jesus Christ by my side, and I’m so thankful to have my first mother back in my life!!

I was 18 when I finally saw some of my baby photos!

2 thoughts on “My Birth Mother

  1. What a lovely story! So happy to hear you get to experience some healing and get some questions about your past answered. God is so good!

Leave a Reply

