Dutch Honey Syrup and Thick Sliced French Toast

DSCN0428

When I worked at the Cannon Beach Christian Conference Center in Cannon Beach, Oregon, one of the cooks ( I don’t even remember who) made a WONDERFUL syrup to pour over the YUMMY French toast. I LOVED that syrup, and after I left and married my Sweetie, who I coincidentally met at that same conference center, I really missed it. A few years ago I asked some people for the recipe, but no one remembered it. So…I started searching the internet for something close to it. I “NEEDED” that Dutch Honey Syrup!!!

I found a few similar ones and tweaked them to create what my taste buds remembered from back then as our Dutch Honey Syrup. It made me so HAPPY!! Then I searched the bread isle for that thick sliced, dry bread goodness that makes the French Toast a perfect pairing for the syrup. And found it! The one time I want dry bread!

So here’s the deliciousness that will make your morning unforgettable! Or afternoon, or evening, or anytime!

DSCN0440

Dutch Honey Syrup and Thick Sliced French Toast

1 cup light brown sugar

1 cup light corn syrup

1 cup heavy whipping cream

1 teaspoon vanilla

Combine sugar, corn syrup and cream in a saucepan. Bring to a boil over low heat, and boil for 5 minutes until slightly thickened, stirring occasionally. Stir in vanilla and let cool. Easy!

To recreate the full CBCC experience, I used Van De Kamps California Enriched French Toast bread and a ratio of about 1/3 milk and 2/3 egg mixture. It really makes a difference to have thick sliced, partially dried out bread. The whole thing was absolutely perfect!!

DSCN0421

DSCN0430Look at that pool of syrup!

DSCN0446

P.S. I may try this with honey next time, haha. But really, to omit the corn syrup.

Enjoy!

Every Tuesday Afternoon

Old Fashioned Recipe Exchange 1/28

Photobucket

3 thoughts on “Dutch Honey Syrup and Thick Sliced French Toast

Leave a Reply

